Songwriting Workshops

I promised you a post about my busy week in Norway, and here it is!

Songwriting workshops
Like I said, the main reason for going home so close to starting the new year at LIPA, was that I had been asked to do 2 songwriting workshops in my home town, as part of a music video project the local Culture School is putting up. I was honored that they asked me in the first place, and I’m very glad to have been a part of this awesome project. I WISH they had done stuff like this when I was in high school! I did two workshops over two nights, and it was a great success. 12 people turned up on the first night (among them a 13 year old boy I used to babysit for when he was 1 – man, I’m getting old..!), and we had a fun time talking about songwriting, listening to examples and working on ideas for a song. By the end of it, we had a pretty good idea for a theme and a story, and they had all written down a few lines of lyrics. I took it all home and worked a bit on it until the next day. A special thanks to Susanne and Christina for turning up the next day and finishing the lyrics with me! It was great fun!

The song is being recorded in a studio in Hønefoss these days (after some changes by the music team), and in October/November the music video will be made. The final result is showing at the local cinema in the beginning of December, and hopefully I’ll be able to attend. If not, I’m sure I’ll get to see it on Youtube! =)

The rest of the week
Man, what a week…! The original plan was to head straight to my girl Milena on the day I arrived. She had just gotten back from holiday, just made some cool changes to her apartment I had yet to see, and we had lots of catching up to do. Besides, she lives en route to my home, and very close to another friend of ours, whos awesome boy Miguel turned SIX that week! I didn’t have a lot of free time on my hands at all, but the little window of time I did have I wanted to spend hugging the birthday boy. Sadly, that all fell through as I was headhunted for a teaching job the next day, and I had to go straight there.
And what a journey it was! Through a series of random events and stupid decisions on my end, I ended up traveling for about 11 hours, missing so many buses and walking around in the middle of nowhere, in the rain, dragging a suitcase after me. I was SO pissed off. At the end of the line though, I got to sit down on a couch and talk to my sister for a couple of hours, which I don’t get to do very often, so it was all worth while. =) I enjoyed being back in Bjoneroa, and teaching was a lot of fun, as always. Plus, the priceless bonus of being in Bjoneroa is of course that I get to hang out with a couple of the best kids in the world; My niece and nephew.

Wednesday and Thursday were pretty much absorbed by the songwriting workshops, but I did manage to squeeze in a lovely lunch with one of my favourite people in the world between all the work;

Friday and Saturday I spend on a glass stand with my dad, engraving names on his awesome glass. I had fun, and even started on a new hat! ;-P

We sat there for about ten hours straight on the Friday and about 8 on Saturday… It was nice, but cold, and a walk to the shopping center to buy warm socks (My feet were freezing in my Nikes after 2 hours) resulted in brand new boots;

From now on, I shall forever be known as (pause for effect) The Girl With The Red Boots… ;-P

And that’s literally where my week went. There were plenty of people I didn’t get to see and things I didn’t get to do this time, but whatchagonnado. I literally barely had time to piss.

__________________________

Until next time guys, remember to Subscribe to this blog (top right corner), follow my Tweets and Like me on Facebook, and I shall dream a little dream of you. Promise.

Take care! ❤

xxx

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. milesawaay
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:50:32

    Busy bee! See you next time 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear and see the video of the song!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

