“I like this life we are making for ourselves”

…said a friend of mine from my class today, when I told him about the last 48 hours I’d had. And I agree. It is a great life. The best. Busy, creative, exciting, exhausting… and so rewarding.

Hectic, to say the least… Thursday was the only day I had to reduce all the stuff I will need until September down to 30 kilos, (and jam it into two suitcases), and to pack all the rest of my stuff into boxes. It was my last day in the old flat, the last day with my boyfriend for a month and a half, the last day to rehearse for my concert the next evening – it was the last day for a lot of things. The taxi was pre-booked for 5 a.m. on Friday morning, to take me to Liverpool John Lennon Airport for my 7 a.m. flight to Norway, and I was not happy (but not the least bit surprised either) that I had left the packing to the last minute – again. At the same time it was kinda really  worth it, for a great night out the night before, with a bunch of people I won’t see again for over 3 months.

Stupid #$$/%$/%” packing…!! Like I said, Thursday was The Day Of Packing. I hate packing. Packing (plus the thought of leaving and the constant fear of leaving crucial stuff behind) makes me physically ill. I get nauseous and I can’t think – and certainly not about what to pack. There is nothing that gets me in a worse mood than packing, and this time I had to double-pack to. Ghaaah.

No sleep for me… I was literally packing until the taxi arrived at 5. No sleep, and no proper goodbyes… I got to the airport, had some breakfast with the other LIPA Norwegians who were leaving on the same flight (toast with jam has never tasted better), and got on. So. Tired. Luckily, I developed a handy habit of falling asleep instantly on pretty much any type of transportation while I was in college. I was 16, and had to move away from home to study music. 3 hours away to be correct. My dad’s condition for me going was that I would come home every single weekend, and so I did. He was afraid I’d go to parties and do bad things I guess – which I didn’t, but definitely could have done anyway if I wanted to, because partying was not a weekend-only type of event up there. Anyway, as the good girl I am, I spent 3 hours on a bus every single Friday and Sunday, in the dark for most of the year (that’s Norway for ya), and I got so used to sleeping on a bus that ever since then, I have just passed out whenever I sit down in anything that moves. And I always wake up right before I have to get off. So as always I slept for most of the flight, and woke up with a pang as the plane hit the ground. Two 1 hour bus rides, one 30 minutes long bus ride and a 20 minute walk later – dragging 30 kilos of luggage – I arrived at Ida’s house, where I had to squeeze in some rehearsal time before the concert. Intense! I still hadn’t really decided on the setlist for the show, but it’s not like I had much choice in the matter. After all, I was doing it by myself this time, and there is really only 4 of my songs I know well enough to play. So I did 4 of my own songs and one cover; Sacrifice by Anouk. Beautiful song. Strange music video, but beautiful song. =)

SURPRISE…!! I must admit that I wildly underestimated the crowd, and I was both happy and surprised (and terrified!!) to see how many people had actually turned up for the Festival. And that on a pretty cold and windy Friday night. Well done Jevnaker! ❤ I had a great time performing in front of a tent-full of people, and I enjoyed watching the other bands that played. I take my hat off to the arrangers of the Festival! I love coming back to play at home, may they forever keep arranging this in my summer holiday so I can play! YAY for a great night, great atmosphere and a great audience, and for it all going all right despite of the nerves. Plus there is nothing to calm down the nerves like a handwritten letter from your adoooorable four year old niece that says: “Good luck on the concert, you are pretty, from Marte.” Meeeeelt…!!!

Zzzzzz… I really wish I had managed to stay for the last act of the evening, (they looked awesome!), but by the time it was their turn I was so tired I could barely stay sitting up. Even my reserve batteries were running low at that point, and I couldn’t wait to fall into bed and lapse into a coma for like a week. Obviously that didn’t happen, but it felt like it would. Two days and no sleep makes Audrey a dull girl. Or something like that.

Most of the concert was filmed, and I’ll put some videos up at some point,. But for now I’ll leave you with the pictures taken by Øyvind Nordstrøm, one of the beating hearts behind the Festival. Jørn from one of the local newspapers was there as well, and he did an interview with me after the concert. Fun times!

Indeed… So that’s my last couple of days of madness… It is a hectic life we’re making for ourselves, but I love every second of it. I even love the packing I hate, on some level. I know I could have chosen a far easier path, but I like easy even less than packing. I’m too restless for easy, I wouldn’t cope. Phil was right. Through all its challenges, the life we are making for ourselves is, indeed, very likable. I like likable.

Audrey xxxx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susanne
    May 29, 2011 @ 10:59:36

    You are seriously hardcore!! My hero. Haha:D

    Reply

  2. audreywilsen
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:25:38

    Fniis, jo takk du! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

