Eargasm!

After tomorrow, I’ve got no more than two weeks left of the first year of my Bachelor degree. It’s gonna be so weird to be a second year…

Before that, I’ve got (excuse my language) a shitload of work to get on top of, so I’ll probably not have time for a lot of blogging in the next couple of weeks. That, and I have to pack all my things so they’re ready to be moved to the new place before I go home to Norway for the summer. Oh, the joy of moving… Næææt.

Luckily, I'm not moving so far this time...

Most of my work is actually quite enjoyable though – one of my assessments is making a Damien Rice style remix of Evelyn Burke’s song Red Hands. Pretty cool, huh? I’ve been listening to my reference track a lot today, making notes, and then I thought; I wonder if there is anyone out there who still haven’t discovered this amazing man…? That would be a shame, wouldn’t it… We can’t have that now, can we…? I know, I shall enrich these people’s lives by introducing them to him!

I remember exactly where I was when he came into my life. It was 2007, I was in Cairo, Egypt, and the girl I was staying with (my awesome friend Hildegunn) was listening to this album by a guy I had never heard of. The guy was of course Damien Rice, the album was “O”, and it completely blew me the crap away. One of my absolute favorite songs of all time is still “The Blower’s Daughter”. It’s just so damn…

Meh, I’ll let you hear for yourself actually. None of my words can possibly do it justice. So hereyago; The Blower’s Daughter, Damien Rice…

What did you think what did you think what did you think???? Sigh… It makes me want to weep. The way he uses the strings to emphasize that single line in the chorus – GHAAAH! Eargasm. The bastard isn’t touring at the moment, sadly, and hasn’t released an album since “9” came out in 2006 (“O” was released in 2003), but luckily, I can listen to those two albums forever and ever.

So that was the recommendation of the day, people. A lot of you have probably heard it before, but a few of you might not have, and that is just unheard of. ;P

I hope you are all having a great week, wherever you are, enjoying whatever weather you have (Weather talk. Really??).

Yeah, so… Iiii’m gonna go now. See you laaater (said in an Irish accent. Why? Because I luuuuuv the Irish accent.)!

Ta.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Merete
    May 11, 2011 @ 16:25:31

    NYYYYYDELIG!!!

    Reply

  2. Mile
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:36:11

    That song breaks my heart! ;(
    I heard it first in the movie Closer, seen it?

    Reply

    • audreywilsen
      May 11, 2011 @ 21:44:20

      I knooow! :’-(
      I have seen Closer, ages ago. But that was before I fell head over heels in love with Jude Law. ❤ Have to watch it again one day, don't remember it that well. =)

      Reply

  3. Merete
    May 12, 2011 @ 10:47:05

    Ja, har jo hørt du har gnåla om han før, men aldri tatt meg tid til å høre på sangen..!;)

    Reply

  4. Dolly Williams
    May 12, 2011 @ 11:02:36

    I HATE THAT WE ONLY HAVE TWO WEEKS LEFT… I will miss you! 😦

    Reply

  5. (The awesome friend (thank you!)) Hildegunn
    May 12, 2011 @ 16:06:35

    Cairo! Damien Rice! Memories! I miss you Audrey!

    Reply

  6. Hilde
    May 12, 2011 @ 23:48:45

    JA! For en fantastisk, fantastisk mann!

    Han dukket opp for meg i 2006, og jeg har elsket han intenst siden. Han kan beskrive alle følelser man noen gang har følt med tekstene sine, han. Skulle egentlig på konserten han hadde på Sentrum Scene, tror det var samme året, men måtte avlyse :/

    Mine favoritter? The Blowers Daughter, så klart. Cheers Darlin’, The Professor & La Fille Danse, Delicate og Accidental Babies, mest av alle. Ikke lett å finne bare én favoritt her!

    Reply

    • audreywilsen
      May 12, 2011 @ 23:59:48

      SUKK!!! Får jeg se han live noen gang kommer jeg til å dø lykkelig!!

      Vanskelig å velge favoritter ja. Selv er jeg også veldig glad i Cheers Darlin’ (så herlig bitter!!) og Amie. Cold Water, 9 crimes… I love’em all!!! ❤

      Btw, Caroline som jeg har skrevet om i det siste innlegget…? Hun har sunget med han… WÆÆÆÆÆÆÆ!!!!!

      Reply

  7. Trackback: I like it on top « Audrey Wilsen

Leave a Reply

