Video; Orion’s Not The Same In Egypt

This video is from a concert I did in Norway last summer. Dan and Becky came with me to Norway, and in addition to being force fed “PØLSE” all week, they accompanied me on stage at the festival “Liv & Røre” in my home town Jevnaker. It was great to show them a bit of home, and to show home a bit of my new life in the UK.

We also got a lot of buzz in the local media. These photos are (left to right)  from the newspapers Ringerikes Blad, Hadeland and Oppland Arbeiderblad, and I also did a radio interview with “Radio Randsfjord” prior to the concerts. Good times! =)

About the song “Orion”… In 2007, I went to Egypt with my very good friend Milena, and sitting by the Red Sea one night I noticed that the constellation Orion had fallen over. He was laying on his side, in stead of standing tall like he does in Norway. Now, Orion has always been the only constellation I recognized and knew the name of, and ever since I was a little girl it has always been somewhat of a comfort, to be able to look up and find Orion wherever I was. Needless to say, I didn’t travel much as a kid. Anyway, coming to Egypt and realizing that Orion actually wasn’t the same in Egypt was a bit of a shock. I mean, it’s logical, once you think about it, but I had certainly never thought about it before. And so the sentence “Orion’s not the same in Egypt” set root in my head, and I knew I wanted to write a song about it. Still, it took me two years before the song followed, and it took the dreams of a little girl to set it off. I was working as a substitute teacher at a school for a couple of days before I moved to England, and on the last day, I performed my song “Just Press Play” for the high school kids. It was in their English class, so they were asked to ask me questions in english, and it was quite fun. But the best part of it was when this girl, this sweet, sweet girl, came over to me in the break, while I was playing the headmistress’ guitar on the grass. She handed me a crumbled page from her note book, and told me not to read it straight away cause she’d get embarrassed. When I did read it, it touched my heart in a way I can’t explain. It was a song that she had written, and her telling me how she writes songs to and dreams about singing, but she is too shy to do anything about it. I was her once. And I understood. I saw her again as I was waiting for the bus, and I grabbed her, and told her to keep writing, keep singing. I wanted to hug her, tell her that I understand, make sure she’ll never let go. I hope I got through in some way, and that she never lets go. That she’ll get the kick in the butt that I once got, and that she doesn’t back down just because small town life tells her she can’t do it. Cause she can!

Anyway, that crumbled note inspired what ended up being the chords to this song, and later that night, the rest of the song came rushing into my head. And every time I perform it, I think about that girl. If you’re reading this; M, this is for you. And for dreamers everywhere. You can do it! =)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Josh
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 20:13:54

    I like this song 😀 the story reminds me of a guitarist who came to my primary school once…what he played scared the hell out of me but it was perhaps the nudge that got the ball rolling for me in terms of where I am now. Norwiegan hotdogs sound better than english ones 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mari
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 13:03:53

    Hei 🙂 Takk for det du sa om meg, og det du skrev, jeg fikk nesten tårer i øynene. Du inspirerer meg til å ville gjøre det, og du får meg til å ha tro på meg selv på mange måter 🙂 Jeg kommer aldri til å glemme deg. Klem Mari

    Reply

  3. audreywilsen
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:51:57

    Kjære Mari, jeg er så glad for å kunne gi deg et lite dytt. Jeg håper og tror du får til å gjøre alt du vil! 🙂
    Stoooor klem fra Liverpool ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

